Back to the list

The Penitents Chapel

The White Penitents' Chapel dates back to the 17th century. It stands out beautifully next to the parish church Our Lady of the Assumption,within the cemetery walls.

 

The Confraternity of Penitents was founded in 1631 by Jean-Baptiste, inhabitant of La Grave, under the patronage of Our Lady of Gonfalon. The year is written on the beams that support the gallery. The chapel was built in 1646. The year is to be found on the inscription over the entrance: MDCXLVI. The nave is covered by a wooden vault, decorated by a series of nine paintings representing scenes and religious figures, each inserted in a moulding thus forming a medallion. The chapel still possesses a number of ceremonial objects as well as a golden altarpiece with sculptures.

 

Overtures :

 

 

D 1091
La Grave
05320 La Grave

 

Phone : 04 76 79 90 05

Notre-Dame de l’Assomption church

The church was built around the 11th century. It is the oldest monument in the area and has been a listed building since 1959. With the Pentitents Chapel it forms a beautiful architectural complex at the heart of the village of La Grave.

See more

Visitis to the religious heritage site in La Grave

La Grave is a mountain village with a rich past. The rural population was very pious and the architectural heritage of the various religious bulildings add to the picturesque charm of the sites.

See more